Hot and Cold….Restaurant Week Continues….

Well, we are almost half way through restaurant week and I’m somewhat happy to report that I’ve dined at two additional spots…hence the hot and cold.

Earlier in the week, a friend and I visited Bistro Campagne…an adorable spot with one of the cutest patios in the city (at -45 with the windchill, we elected to sit inside).. This is a great dining option any time, but their restaurant week selections are none too shabby.

First up – mussels! Always a favorite and these are wonderful – light wine broth and tons of those little mollusks (or bivalves if you prefer). I basically ate these for dinner since I ended up taking my second course home. Yes, that’s correct, I was full after the first of three courses…so be prepared!

I had chicken (the mushroom sauce was light and wonderful) and then a divine bread pudding (I really don’t see enough of this dessert on menus..).

All in all, a wonderful dinner minus a small parking mishap on the way in. Great portion size, delicious food and a really cute atmosphere.

Now…on to restaurant number three… Balsan.

I had been wanting to try this place and perfect – they’re participating in restaurant week!

Now, I don’t want to suggest the meal wasn’t good, as it was really really delicious. However, there is no value in coming for restaurant week. The $44 menu is one of the higher priced restaurant week menus and they still suggest you add additional sides and appetizers to round out your meal. Throw on drinks at $20/each and dinner easily turns into $100/person. I suspect I would have ordered differently had it be a la carte… Oh – also, they include tip, so don’t tip twice!

My starter was the artisan board. This was mostly great – amazing pate, buffala mozzarella, sausage, and some accompaniments. It was a great size and quite fresh and delicious. One cheese was rather bland, but the rest made up for it.

Dinner consisted of a mushroom pasta (though I tried the hot pot, too..wow, that was spicy!). The pasta was light and really flavorful.

Dessert was a marscapone tart – sounded weird, but an excellent execution.

Verdict on Balsan was that it was very good, but don’t go for restaurant week if you use restaurant week to find values. Also, there are a lot of fancy restaurants at this price point with amazing food, so keep this in mind, but it’s not the only option.

Copyright Diary of a Reformed Food Wimp, 2014.

20140130-131916.jpg

Leave a Reply

